The Nineteenth Annual
RF Ionospheric Interactions Workshop
21 - 24 April 2013
Arecibo Observatory, Arecibo, Puerto Rico

sponsored by
National Science Foundation
in cooperation with
The Arecibo Observatory, SRI International, and the University of Alaska Fairbanks

Program Chairman: Michael Sulzer, Arecibo Observatory


Steering Committee:  Asti Bhatt, SRI International; Mark Golkowski, University of Colorado Denver; Edward Kennedy, NorthWest Research Associates; Robert Moore, University of Florida; Roger Smith, University of Alaska Fairbanks; Anatoly Streltsov, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University


Student Representative: Divya Agrawal, University of Florida


Ex Officio:  Richard Behnke, National Science Foundation; Paul Bernhardt, Naval Research Laboratory; William Bristow, University of Alaska Fairbanks; Lewis Duncan, Rollins College; Farzad Kamalabadi, National Science Foundation; Michael Kelley, Cornell University; Kent Miller, Air Force Office of Scientific Research; Craig Selcher, Air Force Research Laboratory; James Sheerin, Eastern Michigan University; Michael Sulzer, Arecibo Observatory

The nineteenth annual RF Ionospheric Interactions Workshop will be held at the Arecibo Observatory in Puerto Rico, beginning on Sunday, April 21, and ending on Wednesday, April 24, 2013. The focus of the workshop is on the interaction of high-power RF waves from ground-based transmitters with the ionospheric plasma and resultant phenomena such as the generation of ELF waves, ionospheric irregularities, and induced optical emissions.  The workshop begins on Sunday afternoon with a student tutorial session on the subject of Low and Mid-Latitude Aeronomy.  On the other days invited presentations will be given on recent theoretical and experimental advances plus discussion sessions on research topics of great current interest.  Submission of poster papers is encouraged for a session scheduled on Monday afternoon.  There also will be presentations on current capabilities of high-power RF ionospheric interaction facilities (Arecibo, HAARP, SURA and SPEAR) and a planning session for the new Arecibo HF facilities inaugural campaign.


Please see the following links for additional information.


If you have any questions, please contact the Program Chairman, Mike Sulzer (Sulzer at or the Workshop Coordinator, Elizabeth Kendall (elizabeth.kendall at